The Bosomtwe District Assembly on Friday, 18th February, 2022 observed the Presiding Member elections at the Pentecost Church at Toamfoum. The purpose of the gathering was to elect an Assembly Members as a Presiding Member (PM) to steer and drive the assembly to achieving unity, solidarity and growth. The meeting saw a record attendance with a membership of 43 with male Assembly members being 40 and female Assembly members being 3. The District Assembly staff was also in attendance to witness the occasion and also the Asokwa Presiding Member.

The meeting commenced at 11:40am with Hon. Ransford saying a word of prayer to get the ball rolling. To begin with, the District Assembly Director introduced the standing orders and welcomed members to the meeting. The meeting continued with the rep from Electoral Commission, Mr. Richmond Antwi, enlightening members on the process of the election. At 12:00pm, nominations were opened for interested candidates to pick up forms. Two people as guarantors; the first would be the one to recommend the candidate and the second guarantor would be the seconder. It was clearly stated by the EC’s rep that no one can serve as a guarantor to more than one candidate. At the close of the nominations, Mr. Michael Acheampong was the only Assembly Member who picked the form. The DCE gave the opportunity to the candidate to address the meeting. In his address, he pleaded that members vote for him once again to continue with his good works.

The EC rep stated that candidate should win with 2/3 of the total 52 potential vote cast to be pronounced as the Presiding Member. He indicated that the voting would be a “YES” or “NO” since one candidate contested unopposed. Elections commenced at 12:10pm with the first person to cast a vote being the District Chief Executive, followed by the Assembly Members present. The Elections closes at 12:18pm which was followed by the sorting of ballots and then counting.

The results were counted as follows: TOTAL VOTE CAST = 43, REJECTED = 1, YES = 42, NO = 0. This emphatic win was presented to be an 80.76% win, thus making the presented candidate the Presiding Member elect.

Mr. Michael Acheampong was declared Presiding Member and was sworn in at 12:25pm by the District Magistrate in the person of Worship Kwaku Baah Frimpong. He thanked the DCE for his amicable personality which has fostered progress amongst assembly members. He then thanked Assembly Members for trusting him and voting for him as the PM. He promised to abide with all rules and regulations and also seek for guidance and advise when needed.

The DCE thanked Assembly Members and the District staff present for gracing the occasion with their present. He then encouraged the assembly members present to support and work in diligence with the PM elect for the goodwill of the district.

After this, the newly PM elect was introduced to the meeting to accept and was congratulated.